Student Mental Health Information Online

Policy Highlights

The Education Bureau (EDB) has been encouraging schools to adopt the Whole School Approach directed at 3 levels, namely Universal, Selective and Indicated, as suggested by the Committee on Prevention of Student Suicides, to promote mental health amongst students and enhance support for students with mental health needs (including those with suicidal risk).

At the Universal level, the EDB has been actively promoting diversified development programmes featuring adventure-based, team building and problem-solving training, such as the “Understanding Adolescent Project” for primary schools, the “Enhanced Smart Teen Project” for secondary schools and the “Pupil Ambassador Scheme on Positive Living” for primary and secondary schools, to enhance students’ resilience, cultivate their sense of dignity, self-discipline and responsibility, and boost their courage to make changes and take on challenges.  From the 2016/17 to 2018/19 school years, the EDB and the Department of Health jointly launched the Joyful@School Campaign to enhance students’ awareness and understanding of mental health and strengthen their ability to cope with environmental changes.  Drawing on experiences and insights, many schools have since sustained their effort in promoting mental health on campus. 

At the Selective level, to help serving teachers support students with special educational needs (SEN), the EDB has been organising structured training programmes pitched at basic, advanced and thematic levels (BAT Courses) for them starting from the 2007/08 school year.  Some modules of the BAT Courses cover mental illness.  From the 2017/18 school year onwards, the EDB has also provided primary and secondary school teachers with the “Professional Development Programme for Mental Health”, which includes 3-day elementary training for teachers at large and 5-day in-depth training for designated teachers, with a view to raising their awareness of mental health and enhancing their professional knowledge and skills for identifying and supporting students with mental health needs.  Besides, the EDB also organises related talks, seminars, experience sharing sessions, etc. in each school year.  In addition, the EDB has published “A Resource Handbook for Schools: Detecting, Supporting and Making Referral for Students with Suicidal Behaviours” and “Teacher’s Resource Handbook on Understanding and Supporting Students with Mental Illness” developed in collaboration with the Hospital Authority (HA) for reference of teachers and school personnel.

At the Indicated level, starting from the 2017/18 school year, the Learning Support Grant has covered students with mental illness so that schools can strengthen their support for these students’ learning, social, emotional and behavioural needs.  Moreover, the Food and Health Bureau, in collaboration with the EDB, HA and the Social Welfare Department, has launched the “Student Mental Health Support Scheme” since the 2016/17 school year to provide appropriate support services for students with mental health needs through a school-based platform. 

The EDB will continue to review the services, and continue to collaborate with other bureaux/departments in promoting student mental health and providing appropriate support services for students with mental health needs.


Back to
Top

校園.好精神

政策大綱

教育局一直鼓勵學校採用全校參與模式,根據學生自殺委員會建議的「普及性」、「選擇性」、「針對性」三個層面,促進學生的精神健康,以及加強支援有精神健康需要(包括有自殺風險)的學生。

在「普及性」層面,教育局積極推動不同的成長計劃,如小學「成長的天空」、中學「多元智能躍進」、中小學「學生大使—積極人生」計劃等,以歷奇、團隊及解難訓練促進學生的抗逆力,並培養他們以自尊自律、勇於承擔和敢於求變的態度,面對挑戰。在2016/17至2018/19學年,教育局和衞生署合作開展「好心情@學校」計劃,以提高學生對精神健康的認知和了解,以及適應不同環境改變的能力。不少學校憑藉其經驗和心得,繼續在校內推動精神健康的工作。

在「選擇性」層面,就幫助在職教師支援有特殊教育需要的學生,教育局由2007/08學年起提供有系統的基礎、高級及專題課程,這些課程的部分單元涵蓋精神病患。由2017/18學年起,教育局亦為中、小學教師提供「精神健康的專業發展課程」,包括為一般教師提供的三天初級培訓及為專責教師提供的五天深造培訓,以提高教師對精神健康的關注,並加強他們識別及支援有精神健康需要學生的專業知識和能力。教育局於2021/22學年起將「精神健康的專業發展課程」及有關的培訓要求整合於有系統的「三層課程」內,以加強課程的完整性。此外,每學年我們都舉辦相關講座、研討會和經驗分享會等。另外,教育局亦出版了《識別、支援及轉介有自殺行爲的學生–學校資源手冊》和與醫院管理局(醫管局)協作發展的《認識及幫助有精神病患的學生–教師資源手冊》供教師和學校人員參閱。

在「針對性」層面,由2017/18學年開始,「學習支援津貼」涵蓋有精神病患的學生,以便學校加強照顧這些學生在學習、社交、情緒和行為上的需要。另一方面,食物及衞生局聯同教育局、醫管局及社會福利署於2016/17學年起推出「醫教社同心協作計劃」,以學校為平台,為有精神健康需要的學生提供適切的支援服務。

教育局會繼續檢視現有服務,並繼續與其他政策局/部門協作,以推廣學生精神健康及為有精神健康需要的學生提供適切的支援服務。


返回
頁首